Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is argued that our lives were more fulfilling when technology was less complex. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that technological developments have made life much better in several ways. The first argument given to support my position is that several household appliances that have been invented have made our daily lives much less laborious and have given us more free time. This is because jobs that require lots of energy and time can now be automatically performed by labor-saving devices. For example, washing machines have freed millions of people from the exhausting task of washing clothes on a daily basis while programmable microwave ovens have helped countless homecooks accelerate the process of preparing their daily meals. This is why I believe that these inventions have all together transformed our material existence, thereby increasing our quality of life. Another point worth mentioning is that those who have Internet connections may gain access to different sources of knowledge regardless of geographical barriers. In the past, students had to heavily depend on their instructors and physical copies of essential materials for their education, but now learners, no matter where they live, can actively search for whatever takes their interests thanks to the Internet. The advent of various virtual learning platforms, for instance, has been allowing a lot of learners around the globe to participate in a variety of courses not available in their areas. For this reason, I think that communication technologies such as the Internet play a vital role in expanding our knowledge. In conclusion, I believe that life has been greatly improved by technological advancements partly because of the inventions of labor-saving equipment and partly because of the information provided by the internet.