Violence in media promotes violence in society. to what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, media has audiences from diverse ages and the usage of media in daily life is constantly on the rise. Media is providing entertainment for different tastes, from TV shows and movies to video games for adults and children. There is a debate on whether violence depicted in media results in actual violence in society. In my opinion, it is true that multiple factors influence societal violence, but violent media can promote aggressive behaviour in society and have adverse effects on its audiences. It is my view that media violence involves the depiction of physical aggression or harm in media forms, such as movies, and television, that can potentially influence individuals' attitudes, beliefs and behaviours. One of the most significant effects of media violence is desensitization. Research has shown that children who are exposed to violent cartoons are more likely to exhibit aggressive behaviour. Furthermore, exposure to violent content can reinforce aggressive behaviour and hostile attitudes. This reinforcement can lead to the development of harsh behavioural patterns. Studies have found a correlation between watching violent TV shows and increasing aggression in teenagers. In contrast, some people claim that social violence is a multi-spect issue influenced by numerous factors beyond media. Upbringing, mental health and economic conditions play a vital role in shaping individuals' behaviour. For instance, people from supportive families are less likely to encourage violence. Additionally, violent media can have a cathartic effect, providing an outlet for aggression.Engaging with fictional violence can offer psychological relief and reduce the likelihood of real-world aggression. However, I do not find this argument convincing as individuals exposed to media violence are likely to act out aggressive behaviour and frequent face-to-face violence can shape viewers' attitudes and behaviours. Also following violent media content can lead to reduced empathy and disengagement. A study indicated that frequent exposure to violent video games can diminish players' empathy for victims of real-world violence, as they become desensitized to the suffering of others. In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that exposure to violent media can justify violent behaviour in society by reducing empathy and moral disengagement and desensitizing children and youth to violence