"Old people are an essential part of society, so they should be respected.” How much do you agree with this opinion and why? Give reasons and examples to support your answer

With the advance of health care system, life expectancy has increased and we see more elderly people now than previous years. In my opinion, I agree that this age group is an essential aspect of our society and should be given our utmost respect, and here are my reasons. Firstly, showing our respect to elderly people is a sign of a good manner and gratitude. Our ancestors have come a long way to provide the comfortable life that we are currently living. We have been taught to learn history from school and to understand our roots. For instance, we learned how hard they have fought during wars for freedom and against colonization. Therefore, I believe they deserve our respect for their hard work and bravery. Secondly, old people impose a lot of wisdom. Wisdom is an art that comes with experience and long-life lessons. Old people have lived and gone through so many ups and downs in their lives and this cannot be bought. For example, when life gets hard and difficult, most of this cannot be solved by reading a book and one tends to seek for comfort and solution from a more aged person who might have gone through those experience. Hence, older people have more wisdom and should be respected. In summary, being respectful and kind are now the qualities that are slowly disappering. Respecting one another especially our elderly people, should be an essential manner that comes naturally as this generation can teach us many things. What more, without them, we are nothing in this world.