Write about the following topic. It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent years, young people´s reading habits have been a strongly debated topic. Many parents struggle to encourage their children to read. This essay will first focus on the reasons regarding this issue before moving on to discuss which measures should be implemented to tackle this problem. The first point to consider is that current generations don´t consider reading their primary source of education and enjoyment. The world is undergoing rapid changes. As a result, technological advancements have impacted on children´s reading habits subtituting them with more visual digital platforms. These online resources offer accessibility, flexibility and comfort, which help young people to enjoy and learn new content through recordings or videos, which is far more effective and faster than reading activities. For instance, millions of people have downloaded apps such as "Audible", which allows the public to listen to stories instead of reading them. A measure that is worth mentioning to address this situation is investing public money in developing free spaces for reading activities. If governments focused their economic resources on building more libraries, children´s reading interests would be increased. This way, young people would grow their intellectual potential without the need of technology, preventing them from been dependent on online platforms. However, it is important to consider that the current digital revolution is being strongly supported by big companies, which can make it difficult for politicians to use public money in this way. To sum up, the dwindling interest of young cohorts in reading has been a highly discussed issue recently. Nowadays, technology is rising children´s education and enjoyment through audiovisual information which surpass the benefits of reading activities. Although this trend is expected to continue in the future, building more libraries can boost younger citizens´reading habits.