Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some state that modern developments in technology allow people to stay together even if they are not in the same place. However, others believe that modern technology leads some people to isolation. In my view, modern technology has surely many advantages in terms of bringing people together but it could also affect people in a negative way by driving them apart. Regarding the advantages, keeping in touch on a daily basis even if people are distant would not be possible without modern devices, like smartphones or computers. Hence, this helps people to maintain bonds, such as friendships or brotherhoods, that in the past would have been lost. For instance, my brother spent last year studying abroad in the USA and video calls were the only way in which we were able to communicate. Thus, I agree that modern technology has played a key role in bringing people together. However, looking at its drawbacks, people are now able to do everything from their houses. It is not only possible to work from home but people could also order food and groceries, or any other type of item. It could certainly seem a positive point and in some ways it is. However, some people choose to never go out and isolate themselves. They create their own world inside the internet, making friends that they have never met. Research proved that these behaviours will soon lead these people to health diseases]], due to lack of physical activity. Furthermore, psychologists are worried about the mental condition of these people. In conclusion, I believe that modern technology should be seen as a positive development, nevertheless, people should be conscious of its possible drawbacks.