If a product is good or it meets people’s needs, people will buy it, so advertising is unnecessary and no more than an entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, advertisements have thrived due to those famous celebrities or models. While some people think of advertising as an unnecessary method to present a product, I completely disagree with this view. For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to reduce or eliminate advertising. First and foremost, Advertising is a key part of modern business, being a crucial part of marketing strategies, customers cannot only be entertained but also be informed about the choices they have by watching the ads. People can get the exact information about products or enterprises merely in a few minutes. Moreover, from an economic perspective, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people all over the world. Without it, there would be higher unemployment, which may lead to declining financial profit from those workers. Finally, some people view advertising as a form of modern art, allowing artists to boost their creativity as well as accumulate their experience. On the other hand, some might consider that advertisements could manipulate people in several ways. Firstly, there are numerous flowery words and empty promises in the ad, leading to children not determining correctly whether or not certain products contain real fruits. Secondly, the production’s promotion causes impulsive consumption. To illustrate, individuals are encouraged to purchase fast-fashion brands like Zara and H&M, which has brought the risk of environmental pollution to overconsumption. Therefore, setting the rules for advertising is an urgent matter. In conclusion, although compelling arguments exist against advertising, I maintain the view that people still need advertisements to purchase products. However, the drawbacks, such as manipulating children and widening the rich and the poor, should not be overlooked. Governments should censor false information or products that are harmful, and set the regulations regarding advertising.