Many people believe that it is easier to have a healthy lifestyle in the countryside. Others say there are more health benefits to living in cities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Maintaining good health is a priority for many. Some argue living in the countryside is more conducive to good health, while others believe city life offers more benefits. Although both environments have their advantages and disadvantages, I am inclined to agree with those who favour rural living. City life has undeniable advantages in terms of health. The main one is the availability of facilities for improving health, ranging from sports clubs to specialised clinics. City dwellers can participate in virtually any sport of their interest to stay fit, or they can access professional medical services for any health complaints. Apart from these facilities, people in cities are often better educated and, thus, more informed about healthy lifestyles, including proper diet and sleep. As a result, urban residents are expected to be healthier than their rural counterparts. Despite all these advantages of city life, I believe that people in the countryside tend to be healthier overall. The most significant factor is the environment; villages typically do not suffer from air pollution because there is far less traffic compared to cities. Moreover, companies often build their factories closer to urban areas to reduce transport costs, leading to greater pollution in cities. Clean air is far from the only benefit rural life offers; it also provides easier access to fresh, organic produce, whereas city supermarkets are normally supplied by commercial farmers who focuses on maximising crop yields using chemical fertilisers and pesticides. Although rural areas may lack the extensive sports facilities found in cities, the daily activities associated with rural living, such as subsistence farming, collecting and cutting firewood, and gardening, naturally incorporates a significant amount of physical exercise. In conclusion, although cities boast more medical and sports facilities and the residents are generally more health -conscious, the cleaner environment, active lifestyle, and access to fresh food in the countryside contribute to better overall health for those living there.