The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have a great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers.

It is undeniable that due to the rapid increase in science and technology, electronic media has grown dramatically in this century. The general belief is that the more developed mass media, the more power to change an individual's thinking, and I completely agree with this view. It is a well-known fact that mass media helps rapidly spread information in our world. Firstly, celebrities who have a significant influence on the Internet such as YouTubers, Bloggers, and KOLs can change some people's minds. For example, many famous people are invited to a talk show or a podcast show to share their lifestyle and opinions about some prominent issue. Therefore, a lot of people think their statements are right and considered as a philosophy of life. Secondly, the mass media can lead society by the nose with some wrong status and articles; people who read news on heterodox reports can easily be misguided. Because the Internet allows a lot of people to upload their opinions and even tabloid journalism, the user can not discriminate between the truth and the mendacious. For instance, in Covid 19, a lot of posts on Facebook uploaded wrong information about the disease and confused citizens. That caused a chaotic society at this time. In conclusion, mass media undoubtedly play a vital role in the world and act as a big source of information, but they also have a great impact on society's minds. However, people who use media should choose orthodox reports and stand their ground to avoid leading noses.