People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

While happiness is a broad topic with several definitions and changes for each individual according to circumstances, I believe people of the older era were happier compared to the present era. Individuals earlier were closely knit into the community to which they belonged. They prioritized relations over all other things. This was also because of less use of technology. They did not have access to mobile phones and the only way to get in touch with friends and relatives was through physical interaction. They made it a priority to attend any social gatherings or family meetups to learn about each other's well-being. This is not the scenario nowadays. Mostly children and teenagers, spend most of their time on electronic gadgets and find excuses to skip social events. Even if they are at a gathering, they are glued to their mobile phones and do not spend time talking to one another or getting to know new people. Older generations also spent a content life without having a lot of possessions. Although they had fewer materialistic possessions, they often experienced greater prosperity in terms of social bonds. This was because of less pressure to be extremely successful in life and have more than what is needed. While the income in the household was just enough to provide for necessary expenses, families spent a lot of quality time together. This is not the scenario today. Families fall under peer pressure and buy things they cannot afford. While a small house, food and clothes were enough earlier, humans nowadays need lavish houses, expensive mobile phones, and branded clothes to stand out in society. While striving to fulfil these needs, they usually overburden themselves with loans. To pay off these debts on time, they prioritise working day and night and do not give much time to family. This in return does hamper their work-life balance and happiness. In conclusion, having a strong family bond and spending time at social events gives individuals a break from their routine and having regular breaks elevates your mood and happiness. While we try to live a lavish life nowadays, we forget to spend time with one another and are constantly stressed about work. In my opinion, while people in older generations did face some problems, they lived happily and content, without stress about clearing debts and standing out in society.