Fast food has become more common in recent years. What are the reasons and what are its effects on people?

Today, it is usual to consume fast food. There are different reasons for this situation, such as affordable cost and addiction to it, and it has possible effects, like health-related issues. First of all, junk food is more inexpensive than traditional food. In other words, consumers spend less money on this type of meal, and they think that by doing this, they save their budget. As a result, fast food and traditional meals have changed their places. Another possible reason for the increased amount of fast food is addiction. To elaborate, it is true that there are food additives in it, which make meals more delicious. Therefore, after eating one time individuals again want to eat them and it has made processed food popular. Turning to the effects, one of them is that some illnesses stem from unhealthy eating habits. To be more specific, fast food and other types of meals in which chemicals are used can cause various diseases, such as stomachaches or digestion disorders. For instance, a study in a journal in the USA has found that people who eat junk food have twice as much risks of diabetes or other health problems, as people who consume healthy food. Another possible effect is positive. After fast food is popular among people, restaurants earn more money, because they allocate less money for producing these meals. So, it is good for restaurants to sell junk food at a high cost. In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned points into account, I am convinced that dependence on fast food and spending less money on them make this food popular today. Although processed food can cause health disorders, it can be beneficial for producers of it.