At school, children should either be taught to compete or to cooperate. In your opinion, which form of education would best benefit society as a whole? Describe both sides of the argument and explain your own opinion.

Education is a beacon of light for a progressive society. However, society is divided about how it should be implemented in schools. According to some education should be competitive as the world is a tough place to survive. Still, others believe that humans and social beings and therefore teaching how to cooperate should be a building block of modern-day learning. Teaching children to compete fosters a sense of ambition and personal achievement, motivating them to strive for excellence and reach their full potential. this can prepare them for a competitive job market where standing out is essential. It is a fact that the moon landing was the result of competition between two nations. On the other hand, teaching children to cooperate promotes teamwork and collaboration, essential skills in a socially connected world. This can lead to a more harmonious society where individuals work together to solve common problems. We have to keep in mind that mitigation of crises like global warming requires cooperation. In my opinion, education should be a fusion of competition and cooperation. The sole pursuit of being excellent may lead to stress and anxiety among children, leading to negative mental health. Therefore a blend of cooperative approaches would be beneficial in a learning environment that fosters positive mental health and well-being.