Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty. Others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

So worrisome has the issue of crime become that more and more people believe that it is a result of the natural badness characteristic of a person. Meanwhile, others assert that crime is an effect of destitution and social challenges. There are strong arguments on both sides, however, which I will elaborate on below. Regarding criminal behavior provoked by people's negative character, supporters of this view say that it is true that people with traits such as greed, selfishness, or a propensity for cruelty may engage in criminal acts. Such characteristics are driven by their decisions, regardless of their circumstance. A wealthy individual, for instance, might commit fraud or corruption even if they face no external pressure like financial hardship or social exclusion. Opponents of such an argument, on the flip side, point out that poverty and social issues are the reason behind crime. Firstly, they argue that if individuals lack access to — education, jobs or stable housing — these circumstances may push people toward robbery out of desperation. Secondly, social issues such as inequality or broken family structures can also foster criminal behaviour. To illustrate this, youth who live in underserved communities with limited access to positive role models may join gangs or commit delinquent behaviour. Consequently, not only would this create criminal activities such as violence or drug trafficking, but it would also build a misguided generation. Taking everything into account, while it appears that criminal behaviour comes from individual bad personalities, I believe that poverty and social problems are major factors that contribute to criminal behavior.