People today are less social because of technology. To what extent do you agree?

It is sometimes believed that the ubiquity of the Internet has led to a lack of communication in modern life. This essay totally agrees with this suggestion for several reasons. The first argument given to support my opinion is that more and more young people lead a sedentary lifestyle because of playing online games. The main reason for this is that current games are quite complicated and ask their users to spend more time on playing in order to gain a high level. This can prevent children from participating in the needed face - to- face interaction activities such as camping or sports, which encourage them to talk, share their feelings and bond with peers. This is why I think that the development of technology contributes to a society which is less social. Another point behind my belief is that the significant increase of e-commerce platforms can be harmful to the connection between people. This is because these platforms are too convenient to the point where consumers just need a click on their smartphones to buy a product or even categories. A case in point is that, Shopee, almost the most online trading platform in Asia offers users a wide range of brands, a lot of deals and a large number of products from goods to groceries. Therefore, housewives do their daily shopping chores with smartphones so they do not need to deal with sellers to have a good price since they have many options, they do not gossip with the neighbours because they don’t need to hang out. For this reason, I believe that the inception of the Digital age is also the decrease of conversations in our lives. In conclusion, I entirely agree that the communication shortage in modern life is a consequence of growing technology.