Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is this a positive or negative development?

The prominence of promotional entities in daily life is becoming rapid. The writer of this essay believes this notion to be a negative development because it not only leads to a breach in consumers’ privacy, but also an abundance of unneeded items, despite some fearing that advertisement is the sole method for the buyers to know how to buy a desirable product. It must be noted that advertising agents are actively buying individuals’ information. In fact, by cooperating with third parties such as search engines, many advertisers are granted insights of their consumer-base. For instance, Google has been open about selling its users’ activities to other sites, even to those who accessed the web through alleged incognito mode. As a result, many consumers are oblivious to the fact that their information is being leaked to outside sources, especially in explicit content usage. Another component to the negativity of advertising firms is that they conduct manipulative marketing. Simply put, many stores spread propagandas, that their products bring about positive effects, yet the majority of these promotional materials find methods to overstate these advantages. This deceptive practice causes buyers to excessively consume products, in which they do not necessarily require. Therefore, a substantial amount of finance from individuals is wasted on these redundant items because of advertisement. Despite the aforementioned results, some personnel believe consumers cannot find items without advertisement. This might be true in the past, yet as technology advances, so do the implementations of informant devices. Using these information sources, users can search solely for the items, which they desire, without being tempted to buy unwanted goods. In conclusion, advertisements lead to the reduction of privacy, and the hoarding of unwanted items, although some argued that advertisement was the prominent method of finding goods.