Technology has impacted on the way people interact. These days, many relationships are created and maintained through technologies such as mobile, telephones and the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using technology to establish and develop relationships?

Nowadays human interactions are strongly influenced by modern technologies such as the Internet and social media platforms. On the one hand, some positive aspects should be taken into consideration. For instance, the ease of interaction and the possibility of exchanging information quickly and at no cost offer clear benefits. However, the drawbacks are evident - for instance, the need to be constantly connected and the lack of face-to-face interaction - as these factors are significantly affecting people's lifestyles. Today, it is common to own mobile devices, such as smartphones and tablets, which are mainly used to access the Internet and social media for free. In particular, many applications have been developed to facilitate instant communication and staying in touch with friends easier than ever. Consequently, companies have leveraged the potential of these applications, attracting billions of users who rely on them to fast and easy communication. In my opinion, these are the key benefits that consumers enjoy every day, without paying anything. On the other hand, the impact on people’s one-to-one relationships is strong, meaning that this trend also causes significant drawbacks. In fact, the use of technology has profoundly changed our approach to social interaction and, as a result, people tend to form virtual connections rather than in-person relationships. This requires people to always remain connected, leading to increasing dependence on such platforms. For example, a recent study by the Italian Institute of Research (ISTAT) shows that the people’s dependence on social media is increasing at an annual rate of 11%. This happens especially among the youngest population, for whom the rate riches 16% This data is so worrying that Parliament is currently considering a new law to regulate the phenomenon. To sum up, although new technologies have led to some positive impacts on our lives, many drawbacks are also becoming increasingly evident, and it is important to regulate these developments, in order to mitigate their negative effects on society.