Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

New types of technology mean that you can easily connect with people throughout the world. Many believe that this is harmful and prevents us from forming meaningful friendships with others, while some people argue that using social media improves our ability to build new relationships. In my opinion, the negative impact is greater than the benefits, as I will explain. Firstly, let us consider what makes a meaningful relationship. Being able to talk and meet with people is key and this can be done in person in the traditional way, or, increasingly, online. However, seeing people in the real world is very different from meeting them online. You can learn more about them and see them at both their best and their worst; therefore, your relationship is based on more than short text communication. Many argue that modern social media allows us to connect with a variety of people from different places and backgrounds, which can be true. Nevertheless, these websites often lead young people into dangerous situations, for example, they may be bullied because of how they look. Also, their personal information becomes available to all if they are not careful and they never really know who they are connecting with. While it is true that social media sites can be very useful and help us to connect and keep in touch with others, we need to be careful and not forget that we can only make real friends in the real world. I personally believe that these are the relationships that last a lifetime.