Many major cities around the world have become too expensive for lower-income people to reside in. What problems does this cause, and how can they be solved?

Numerous highly dense cities around the world are facing issues in accommodating lower-income households, due to their excessive living costs. In this essay, I will depict some potential reasons behind it and recommend a proposed solution to overcome it. People prefer to live in the city's core due to its various conveniences, including a nearby workplace to avoid longer commuting distances, and other daily amenities like a grocery store or pharmacy, which are just a walking distance away. However, living in the core of an expensive city leads to higher expenditure. Few middle-income people can afford to live in those major cities. The root cause of this issue is poor urban planning, specifically the concentration of all corporate headquarters in the downtown area. In addition, due to the higher living costs in those major cities, people are forced to move to other cities, which detrimentally impacts the local businesses and the overall economy. Another reason for considering the higher rent in these cities is the scarcity of land and residences compared to demand. The production volume of new buildings is significantly lower than the demand, and the sustainability of these housing projects is not promising, having failed in many cities. Therefore, a substantial improvement in city planning is necessary to overcome this alarming situation. Urban planners in major cities should adopt a plan to expand the core area gradually and assist builders and real estate developers to create more housing to address the housing crisis. To conclude, a comprehensive and sustainable urban plan should include the decentralization of most of the corporate headquarters. It imposes fewer restrictions on real estate companies, which will result in more housing that can potentially alleviate the housing crisis and make it affordable. Consequently, more affordable housing results in lower living costs, which will make it possible for lower-income people to reside.