Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give it all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some college students have the desire to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects; however, others aren’t keen on believing that some can do both, and instead they should focus on their major. In my opinion, I believe that they can do both, and in this essay, I will shed light as to why. On the one hand, students who are studying at highly respected universities have a higher chance of being motivated. For example, if two students are taken into comparison, one studying at Yale while the other seeks education at an unknown school in the ghettos, the student studying in the Upper East Side would be more motivated to work hard and take more relevant and irrelevant classes to their major. If the Yale student is majoring in international relations, they are more likely to take classes involving community service, etc. However, the student studying in the poorly funded school will not be motivated to take extra classes, thus ultimately failing in life and not enjoying their university years fully. On the other hand, students with mental issues who have deficiencies such as ADHD are more likely to get distracted from their studies and focus on more irrelevant subjects, thus ultimately failing in their selected courses. Thus, those who suffer from such deficiencies are best advised to not involve themselves in multi-majors and are not keen on being distracted from their studies. So, when a student who has a history of getting unfocused on their studies wants to do voluntary hours, their advisor would forbid them from doing so.   In conclusion, it is safe to say that, although it is a good option to focus on voluntary hours, it is also very important to focus on your GPA and overall score in universities. In my opinion, as a student myself, I tend to focus on my volunteering hours more than my studies; however, I always have time for both. Thus, if students can concentrate on both, why not allow them to do both?