Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a well-discussed topic that mankind has limitless choices at its disposal now. While some people think that the variety of the choices has not changed significantly from ancient times, I strongly believe that modern people choose far more frequently than our ancestors did. A compelling argument is that technological advancements completely reinnovated the way individuals live. The abundance of resources, from informational sources to food supplies, that are available to ordinary individuals provokes them to make choices regarding every aspect of their lives. For instance, average citizens may choose what they will eat for breakfast, or what article they will read. Moreover, besides some domestic choices, people now also can choose their professions, cities to live and other tangible selections. To compare, in ancient times, humans had to eat what they had hunted or found earlier, and were unable to go to a supermarket and choose any desirable products. One further aspect is that the Universal Declaration of Human Rights compels all nations and countries to respect and provide freedom to every individual. In other words, nobody is able to limit a person’s natural wants and desires, which are tightly bound with choices. A great illustration of the implications of the declaration is that individuals can choose or change their religions without any consequences; however, before, if a person changed his religion, he or she would be exiled or killed. As a result, documents, such as the human rights declaration, have a great impact on broadening people ’s choice variety. To sum up, it is undeniable that in today’s era, people are surrounded by an endless number of choices, and factors like technological development or the newest agreements only help to double them.