Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that the government should spend more money on education in adult populations who cannot read and write.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that government budgets should be for young people’s education, while others believe that investing in illiterate adults has a greater impact on the economy and long-term benefits. One of the main reasons to invest in adult education is to help reduce the rate of illiteracy adult population, which can have economic impacts because educated adults can contribute more effectively to the workforce. Therefore, if more funding is spent on improving adult literacy rates may suffer as a consequence of less funding. For example, both children and illiterate adults may become an impossible task with limited funding, with government support can help those families to have a suitable level of economic well-being. Moreover, improving adult literacy can have a generational impact. Literate parents are more likely to engage in their children’s education, such as helping their children with homework, fostering a reading culture, and valuing children's achievement. These benefits mean that it can lead to the rates of educated young people, which reinforces the success of younger learners as well. In this way, funding adult literacy becomes a strategic, long-term investment rather than a competing priority. In conclusion, while the education for young people remains a priority, I firmly believe that if the government increases financial support for educating illiterate adults, it will benefit tremendously, not only by promoting equity and social inclusion but also by strengthening the nation as a whole.