Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Online conferences have become a popular solution in the digital world due to the development of information technology infrastructure, bringing more advantages than disadvantages. Initially, the foremost advantages of online meetings are their positive influences on this solution including convenience and productivity. Individuals could participate in any meeting from anywhere and anytime without any difficulty involving location and time zone differences. Therefore, they could reserve a flexible plan and spread their communication immediately rather than having face-to-face conversations. For instance, individuals remotely can attend meetings without commuting, saving rental workspace and eliminating unnecessary procedures. While, individuals could engage in conferences instantly and keep up to date with the latest information, so they could make decisions more precisely and execute actions promptly. Hence, they could improve their efficiency and productivity. Lastly, most people could join meetings at affordable prices including owning a mobile device and subscribing to an internet invoice, both factors could operate based on attempting to provide smartphones at reasonable prices and the modern digital infrastructure telecommunication. However, the chief disadvantages are some technical issues. Firstly, participants may experience delays or dropouts during critical discussions owing to connectivity problems. These issues impact the quality of the video and the audio distortion, so audiences will misunderstand the meaning of this conversation. As a result, this leads to making wrong decisions and influencing productivity and performance. Additionally, there are many problems relevant to the security aspect. The low-security extent of some popular meeting platforms is the main reason for accessing unauthorised confidential discussions or materials. Despite some updates that have been released, users still worry about data breaches and privacy risks during online meetings. For example, there are some outstanding cases recently reported in newspapers, including identity theft, intellectual license losses and information leaked at some governmental online summits. To conclude, the positive influences are convenience, promptness and productivity and this type of communication is a superior solution for most individuals. Nevertheless, some technical concerns still exist in some entities, which are negligible and can be solved by using reputation providers that have been checked by digital experts.