It is a natural process that animal species such as dinosaurs become extinct. There is no reason for people to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people in the world believe that it is natural for animals to become extinct after some time, and people must, therefore, not try to conserve them. I totally disagree with this view because animal extinction is the result of human activities in the Anthropocene. In this essay, I will support my opinion. First and foremost, the fact that we do not see dinosaurs in the 21st century does not mean we must just see them as historical species. Most of the animals are endangered species because of human activity, such as poaching and the formulation of laws permitting hunting. Therefore, it is a worthy cause to find ways of preventing these acts from happening. For example, the pangolin is an endangered animal in Zimbabwe. The government has, thus, passed several parliamentary laws to forbid its hunting and export to Western countries. I find this to be a good initiative. Secondly, if we do not conserve our animals, we are losing our past, our present and our future, or our identity. In my country, for instance, most of our surnames have animal totemic meanings, which means we attach great importance to having them for ritualistic activities. The effects of animal extinction would cut deeply into our cultural ethos and leave us spiritually unprotected. In conclusion, therefore, I totally disagree with the view that we must not protect our animals from extinction, as this is a natural process for them. In the essay above, I have demonstrated with cultural and logistical reasons that it is important to conserve them.