The increasing levels of air pollution in urban areas are having a detrimental impact on public health. What are the main causes of this pollution and what solutions can be implemented to address this issue?

It is a fact that individuals are suffering from numerous health issues in developed places due to a rise in air pollution. There are several root causes of polluted areas; however, a few remedies could be offered to resolve the situation to a large extent. In this essay, I will discuss both the reasons and the measures that help to overcome this problem in the subsequent paragraphs. Examining the reasons, the most common is that a number of trees are being cut on a daily basis. This is because more and more space is cleared for new buildings. For instance, a recent study in India has shown that last year, 5000 acres of forest plants were cut to establish new houses, factories, and industries. Consequently, this approach not only vanishes a source of oxygen but also increases air pollution. Moreover, another cause is traffic. Nowadays, most individuals prefer to drive their private vehicles for safety purposes, which leads to heavy traffic on roads. For example, in Delhi city, individuals are facing a 5-6 hour traffic issue to go from one place to another. Therefore, cities like Delhi face air pollution problems every day. On the contrary, to combat the issue, a few productive steps can help to overcome it to a large extent. The foremost one is that the ruling bodies should implement strong, stringent rules and regulations related to cutting forests, and planting new trees near cities. As an example, in Canada and America, it is compulsory for individuals to plant a few big and small trees in front of their houses. As a result, this way, people would get fresh air, which helps to mitigate health complications. Besides this, people should take the initiative to use car-sharing and public transportation for traveling, and going to their workplaces as much as possible. As a consequence, this step will overcome traffic and air pollution to some extent. In conclusion, overcoming the air pollution problem requires some collective steps by the government and the local public, by using fewer private cars and growing more and more new trees nearby.