Many counries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a posistive or negative development?

A range of countries all over the world are heavily reliant on importing a huge amount of food from distant regions. While this practice offers some benefits, I strongly believe that overall it is a negative development due to both environmental and agricultural problems that this development brings. There are so many benefits of importing foodstuffs from other countries, and one obvious advantage of this practice is that it increases the variety of foods that are available for consumers. This, in turn, provides an opportunity for the local people to enjoy some seasonal fruits as well as some exotic ones year-round, such as strawberries and mangoes in any season, which would be impossible to taste due to the climate of the country. In addition, diversity not only develops the diet but also allows individuals to experience the foods of different cultures through their dishes. Therefore, importing cuisine from other nations would result in positive progress in countries with limited access to a variety of foods. However, the drawbacks can be significant as importing food to one country could negatively impact the environment, together with the local agriculture of the country. Firstly, transporting cuisine over long distances requires large amounts of fuel, contributing to carbon emissions and climate change. For example, importing fresh vegetables from South America to Europe creates far greater environmental issues than planting them locally. Secondly, a dependence on imported goods can weaken the local farming industries. Local farmers may struggle to compete with cheaper products from abroad, leading to a decline in agricultural jobs and threatening a country’s food economy in times of global crisis. In conclusion, while importing exotic fruits and vegetables provides variety and can help to feed a large population in some regions, I think that this is generally a negative trend, as this trend creates significant issues for the environment and local farmers.