Some people think that hosting an international sports event is beneficial for a country, while others believe it has more disadvantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of hosting an international sports event.

Nowadays, hosting an international sports event proposes two contrasting viewpoints. Many nations commonly suggest that organising a worldwide sports event can benefit the country, while others doubt the advantages that it offers. In this essay, I am going to demonstrate certain advantages and disadvantages associated with this belief. On the one hand, holding an international athletic competition can benefit the country in a myriad of fields, namely, enhancing the local economy, promoting tourism, and cultural exchange. Firstly, it is evident that establishing international sports events would attract global sponsors and investment to incentivize sportsmanship around the world, leading to long-term collaborative relationships between the host countries and their sponsors, which would be beneficial for the economic growth of the host countries. For instance, the Olympics, which have been organised annually and are currently being held in Paris, have attracted large companies and entrepreneurs such as Toyota, Samsung, and Atos to invest. Secondly, fans and athletes travel to the host country to enter the Olympics or World Cup, which can boost local businesses as hotels and restaurants experience increased demand. Above all, worldwide sports championships can also encourage sportsmanship and enhance international relationships among athletes and other countries. On the other hand, despite these benefits, hosting an international sports event can lead to significant drawbacks. Chief among them is that hosting a worldwide championship can result in financial strains. This means that hosting often requires massive public funding for infrastructure, security, and event organisation. Secondly, organizing large-scale sports events can reduce the safety of residents and increase congestion and pollution after the sports championship. It is reported by Paris Sport Spirits that… Moreover, hosting these festivals may damage the image of the host country if not taken seriously. For example, during the 2024 Summer Olympic Championship hosted by France, athletes complained about the food, uncomfortable cardboard beds, and the extreme temperature of the Olympic village. In conclusion, despite the argument about the aftermath of international sports events for the host country, it can be pointed out that they can drastically enhance the economy, promote tourism, and improve international relationships. However, the associated challenges, such as financial strains and services, must be considered and addressed.