Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

Doctors encourage elderly people to stay physically active. Yet many fail to do; this happens mainly contribution to health limitations, lack of motivation and insufficient facilities. However, these can be addressed through awareness campaigns, family support and community programs. One of the major factors associated with the inability to engage in physical activity is a health problem. For instance, the most recent evidence has shown that many older individuals suffer from joint pain, heart conditions and low stamina in their lives. Furthermore, some older adults are used to a sedentary lifestyle, and they may not recognise the value of physical activity after their retirement. Moreover, the vital role of lack of inadequate amenities in urban areas can not be overlooked. For example, the implementation of a wide range of safe parks and walking paths in 2024 in Iran has increasingly encouraged older generations to be more mobile. To address this problem, governments and organisations with rising public awareness about the benefits of moderate exercise through media campaigns have a significant effect on diminishing inactivity. Besides, relatives can encourage the elderly to join in light activities, Such as yoga or walking. This can lead to a reduction in feelings of isolation and an increase in motivation. Last but not least, community programs and group activities have a determining effect on reducing passivity among the elderly if local councils provide free or low-cost fitness classes for seniors. In conclusion, the lack of physical activity in older people can be attributed to health limitations, less motivation and insufficient facilities. Although, to empower them to healthier and more active lives, it is important to develop public awareness, exercise programs, and increase family support that cater to their needs and circumstances.