Some students take a year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to work or to travel. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Some students choose a one - year gap before entering university. They usually ‎use this gap to go on a trip or work. In this essay, I will explain why the ‎disadvantages of one year off are outweighed by the advantages. Boosting ‎energy and gaining more experience will be discussed as two primary benefits of ‎taking a year off after finishing school.‎ In fact, it has been shown that studying could be one of the most difficult ‎duties. It needs much energy and focus to be successful. One year off after 12 ‎years of non-stop learning may be a good chance for students to recharge ‎themselves towards various activities. For example, travelling is considered ‎ one of these activities that help them recharge their battery for the next step in ‎ university. A longitudinal study on students who went on a long-haul trip ‎before entering university showed that they achieve better learning outcomes ‎than those who immediately started their course after finishing school. ‎ However, some believe it is kind of wasting time, higher energy and a prepared ‎mindset to start the next step showed far better results in students who ‎preferred choosing a one - year gap between school and university. ‎ Furthermore, some students use this opportunity to gain experience about ‎what they want to choose as a future career. For example, for students who tend to ‎choose one year off before enrolling in university, some organisations in Iran ‎provide vacancies in different fields, such as health and science, engineering, ‎and teaching. This way, they assist students in choosing their majors at university. A ‎survey in 2023 in Iran showed that a large number of these students (92%) ‎succeeded in finishing their course at university, while this number for ‎ students without using this opportunity was much lower. ‎ In conclusion, it has been proven that a gap between two major stages of life, ‎like between finishing school and starting a course at university, might bring ‎many benefits. According to evidence-based results, I strongly believe that ‎better learning outcomes due to higher energy and practical experiences are ‎two main advantages that outweigh the drawbacks.‎