Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism has created tension rather than understanding among people from different countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely believed that global tourism, which is the largest industry internationally, is creating chaos instead of uniformity among people. Personally, I can neither agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. On the one hand, tourism does bring individuals from different places in the world together by learning new cultures, experience new cuisine. These activities tend to create a mutual understanding between people that leads to respect and the formation of new relationships. For instance, a report from CBS Sports has stated that the sports festival in Brazil is attracting hundreds of thousands of sport-enthusiast from all around the world to come and enjoy the Brazilian tradition. Therefore, it would only be plausible to say that international tourism brings people together. On the other hand, global roaming has many downsides, one of which is xenophobia and racism. As natives or even non-natives often have a sense of distinction between them and the tourists, some of which are hostile against a certain group of people. Thus, lead to many detrimental losses both physically and mentally. For example, many Asian tourists in America have reportedly been harassed and harmed by the natives due to their physical appearance. Moreover, this phenomenon continues to rise in many parts of the globe, especially during wartime nowadays. Therefore, to some extent, tourism is responsible for international tension. In conclusion, although tourism does bring back many benefits as well as bring people together, its flaws should not be neglected in order to mitigate the detrimental effects that it comes with.