Some people believe that future technologies will allow humans to erase unpleasant memories. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some people claim that memories can be removed by state-of-the-art technological devices in the future. From my perspective, memories play a crucial role in people's experiences, and this development will lead to social unrest, causing a rise in divorces, so the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits of this innovation. To begin with, memories contribute to the development of people's skills, abilities, and characters. Even if individuals were to experience incidents that they want to forget, a life lesson can be learned from these bad memories. Take the example of the founder of Alibaba Corporation, Jack Ma, who had been rejected by numerous companies before he established Alibaba. He could easily remove his bad experiences so as not to feel depressed and anxious; however, he pushed his limits and learned from his mistakes. Consequently, memories should not be forgotten and have a great importance of personel enhancement. Furthermore, the memory-deleting technique can have a negative impact on relationships and may lead to a significant increase in divorce rates, causing social unrest in the long term. This would be mainly because couples may prefer forgetting their partners instead of solving their problems after they argue with each other. A movie called The Sunshine of the Spotless Mind depicts the main disadvantage of this situation by showing how regretful this couple was after they had decided to erase their memories of each other. As a result, they divorced and had the same problems in their other relationships. Because of that, I firmly believe that this method can affect married couples negatively, and divorce rates may rise. In conclusion, I think that allowing humans to use a technological device that can erase their bad memories is not an efficient technique to heal their mental wounds, as people should learn from their mistakes, and it may negatively affect society's perspective on relationships.