Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Public transportation is a major requirement for metropolises. It is, however, discussed whether government investment and reducing costs are efficient ways to fight against transport pollution. I personally agree that enabling practical public transportation at lower prices for citizens significantly helps with it. In this essay, I will support my statement. Firstly, new metro lines and bus stops require construction, which mostly takes a large period of time. Furthermore, because of this, many ways and streets are temporarily closed. As a result, traffic increases significantly on a variety of busy roads and highways. For instance, in Barcelona, to arrive at the beach zone, there are common routes not functioning nowadays, which cause traffic congestion due to maintenance in metro line. On the other hand, lower costs and a large number of subways and coaches encourage people not to drive. To illustrate, tourists and residents in London show a tendency to travel by underground since the London Metro System is one of the most remarkable and enormous examples of all. Another factor is that car parking in London is quite an adverse and pricey issue. Hence, the proportion of private vehicles in traffic is limited in this capital. It is also an advantage that passengers find more flexible, comfortable, and less time-consuming trips. To sum up, investment in public transport systems and affordable ticket prices are outstanding assets to lessen pollution on city roads. Authorities must plan and schedule renovations and expansions carefully by taking into account peak hours, community routines, and individuals' economic conditions.