Some people think that governments should give financial support to artists, musicians and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a big controversy regarding whether authorities should financially support artists, musicians and poets. Some argue that governments should invest in these activities, while others strongly disagree. This essay will discuss both views before sharing my point of view. On the one hand, some think that artists, musicians and poets should be financially supported, and this is justified in two ways. Firstly, they preserve culture and traditions, which means that artists help maintain a country's history, traditions and identity through music, literature and art. For example, in some West African countries such as Mali, griots explain past events through music and share it with their children as an heirloom. Furthermore, by spending on these activities, it can be supportive for the government through the economy. To be precise, the creative industry can acttract tourist and create jobs. For instance, a lot of people travel from one country to another just for their favourite artist's concert or poet; thus, the hotel and accommodation domain's outcome will considerably increase through. On the other hand, government money should be focused on essential services. To be clear, due to the fact that they directly affect people's lives, public funds should be prioritised for crucial needs such as healthcare, education and infrastructure. Moreover, Art is not always beneficial to society since some artistic projects may have limited practical value compared with other public investments. To illustrate, a government spends millions on a modern art exhibition that only a small number of people visit while, while hospitals need more equipment or schools need more teachers. To conclude, in my opinion government should provide some financial support to artists, but this funding should be limited and carefully managed because essential services should remain the priority.