Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Even in developed countries, a degree of poverty exists. However, in many developing countries, this is a major problem, and the number of poor people continues to increase. There are various factors and these need to be addressed.' The first issue is influencing world poverty is the current global economic system. This reinforces inequality between rich and poor people since it allows resources to be distributed unequally amongst people. In addition, the global economic system can favor the investment strategies of large transna­tional corporations, which often pay their worker's sub-standard wages. Another reason is illiteracy. Many people in different countries do not have access to education, and as a result do not learn to read or write. They are, therefore, precluded from well-paid employment and so cannot improve their living conditions. For example, people in different countries of Africa do not have more resources to study and ultimately there are peoples that are more uneducated. In order to provide help for the world's poor these problems need to be addressed. Firstly, the interna­tional community has to establish a fairer economic structure in which the wealth of each country can be shared equitably amongst its people. Moreover, all countries should make it a priority to eradicate illiteracy by providing a comprehensive learning system for all citizens so that everyone is equally capable of improving their living standards. To conclude, it can be said that poverty will probably always exist. Nevertheless, countries can take actions to reduce this by ensuring that there is a fair distribution of wealth amongst the people, and by making sure that all people have access to education.