In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Due to the advancement in technology the mode of reading has also changed. These days, a high number of people are deciding on reading electronic books rather than printed books. Although there are still drawbacks of e-books reading, in my view, the benefits are more significant. On the one hand, the downsides of reading electronic books exists. To begin with, it is detrimental for the readers’ eyesight. An avid reader may receive damaging effects on their vision due to the rays produced from reading materials on smartphones and computer screens. A recent study, for example, has shown that weak eyesight problem among youngsters is 50% owing to reading the e-books. Furthermore, reading books on gadgets does not give a sense of feeling of studying, which can only be perceived through reading a printed form of books. This is because we cannot touch the electronic books and feel its paper. On the other hand, I believe the positive outcomes of reading e-books would eclipse its negative outcomes. Firstly, electronic books require very less space to store them. Millions of e-books can be safe and store in a minimum memory of smartphones, laptops and tablets, which would require at least a building if they are in the printed form. This, in turn, gives readers a facility to carry a plethora of books with themselves wherever they move. Secondly, books in soft form are free or sometime very economical. Many e-books are available online in different books related website for free, but very few are only available in the paid version, which are also not expensive. For instance, “The Advanced Concepts of Software Engineering” written by James Bolt can be downloaded for free online, which if intended to purchase in printed form costs $200. In conclusion, while reading e-books rather than printed books has drawbacks such as eyesight issue and no sense of reading, in my opinion, the benefits such as requiring less pace and economical aspect are more notable.