The best way to get people to use their cars less is to make them pay a road toll to drive on busy roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that if we want to discourage people from using their cars, it is the best way to let them pay a toll on busy roads. I completely agree with this statement because people usually are not interested in paying high amounts of money on roads, and if this happens, people will try to find alternative ways to travel. If people have to pay a high amount of toll on roads, they will not be interested in spending a high amount of money while travelling. Busy roads and highways generally demand road tolls, and if it is high, many individuals cannot bear that expense. As a result, people will not be encouraged to bring their cars on the roads. For example, in Melbourne, Australia, many highways demand a huge 80 dollars toll per 10 kilometres, which restricts many car users from using their cars during peak hours. Moreover, if people have to pay a large amount of toll, they will try to find alternative transport options for them. Each big city throughout the world has advanced public transportation facilities, which the general public can use instead of using their personal cars. The use of the public transport system will encourage them not to bring their personal cars on the roads. For instance, many Bangladeshi citizens depend on the public transport system for their daily use, only because they try to avoid paying high tolls on the roads. In conclusion, I fully agree with the point that if citizens have to pay a road toll, they will be less interested in using their cars. This is because people do not want to spend much money on roads, and they will find alternative transport options.