when designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some of are the opinion that the design of a building should be influenced majorly by the projected use of the building instead of considering the aesthetic appearance. In my opinion, a building should be designed primarily on the basis of the nature of its future use. However, one must also consider its physical outlook as a contributing factor executing the design phase. On the one hand, to ensure a good life of a building, one must always consider its intended utilisation upon its completion. Constructing a building solely on the basis of its aesthetic appearance will leave it susceptible to poor performance during its utilisation. In other words, constructing a high rise tower to create a majestic outlook, when in reality, its projected use is suitable even for a low rise tower, would result in both wasted time and money. On the other hand, focusing the design of a building solely on how it will be utilised is not recommended. One must also consider the aesthetic appeal on its completion, which creates an appealing look to the nearby locality and the nation as such. It is the job of the designer to come up with a design that is both beautiful as well as utility-based. In conclusion, a building must be constructed by considering both the aspects, the projected utilisation as well as its outward appeal. It is up to the designer to strike a perfect balance between maximizing the overall efficiency of the building and creating a sound outward appearance.