In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In the contemporary world, people can see news about how some Africans are suffering from hunger and desperately need food supplies, or about a country that has experienced a fine harvest season due to a newly developed agriculture technology. Some will be surprised and wonder how these two distinct or even contradictory events take place at the same time, and how people are still hungry while there are technologies which could improve agriculture. Therefore, this passage will discuss the reason for the phenomenon and the way to deal with it. One of the most important reasons for this phenomenon is the resource endowment gaps between regions. Agriculture mostly depends on the natural resources of a region such as the quantity of heat, water, precipitation, soil and so on. In consequence, some parts of the world, such as East Africa, are not conducive to agricultural activities due to their lack of soil and precipitation, which makes it hard to satisfy the needs of people living in it. In addition, a country's agricultural level does not fully depends on natural resources, but also its technology level. For example, Saudi Arabia has made a significant improvement in its irrigation method which helps to produce more vegetables in the hot desert weather. Unfortunately, in most countries in poverty, where people are still suffering from hunger, their technology cannot afford to improve their agricultural skills to upgrade their productivity in farming. Therefore with the aim of solving the problem, international cooperations are needed. The resolution of the problem can be divided into food supplements and technology assistance. On one hand, countries with abundant food storage could spare some and sell it to countries that are urgently needed at a low price. On the other hand, some states could provide advanced agricultural technologies to those who needed to improve their agricultural level.