Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.  In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?  Is this a positive or negative development?

In this present world, interaction among some individuals has taken another turn due to recent advancements in technology. This essay will first discuss how technology has resulted in a rise in virtual friendships, and then discuss how this is considered a negative trend. Recent technological development in communication technology has affected the kinds of relationship built by people in diverse ways, and perhaps the most important is the virtual relationship that some people have these days. In other words, many people have online friends who they have never met in person, and this is becoming common, especially with the development of varied social networking applications. To illustrate this, a 2014 poll carried out by Oxford University revealed that 40% of youths in the UK prefer to have virtual friends on social networking applications, such as Facebook and Whatsapp rather than in real life. Hence, communication technology has altered the way people relate. This trend is considered a negative one because having friends online means that people will have less face-to-face interaction. This trend is particularly common among shy people who are seen to lack basic interpersonal skills, but prefer to spend more time with their faces glued to their phones chatting with their virtual friends online. For instance, the Vanguard newspaper reported in 2010 that 70% of young people in Nigeria who have a large friendship circle on Facebook, actually lack necessary conversation skills. In this instance, it is clear that the role of technology in a relationship is a negative development. In conclusion, advances in communication technology have caused a trend towards virtual friendships, which is considered a negative development. It is hoped that people learn to manage the effect of scientific advancements on their relationships.