Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choices of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by few that an individual’s culture and character can be deduced by the way he or she dresses. Although, traditional wear of certain regions does provide you with an idea of how their society was, but in an era of globalization, it has become very difficult to decode one’s beliefs by their clothes. Therefore, I disagree that nowadays you can look at a person and be able to predict his beliefs accurately, however, certain traditional outfits may be able to give you such hints, which I will discuss further below. As globalization has progressed, western sense of dressing have become prevalent in many cultures around the world, making it difficult to differentiate between various societies. For example, you will find that the world leaders would all wear suits when attending a global conference. Though, they might belong to different places, their attire is almost identical. Hence, if you were to decode anything relating to one’s personal traits based on just his clothing, it would not be possible. Also, sometimes the dress in based more on occasion rather on personal liking. Alternatively, there is a long held belief that one may be able to tell something about a person’s background or belief system by his/her preference of a certain wear, such assertions may have been dependent on the outfits that are associated with their old tradition. For example, many Muslims have started wearing skull caps or veil in order to be more close to their religion. By looking at such individuals, one can assess that they belong to a conservative country, but not all follow such a choice, hence, a generalization cannot be made. To conclude, I would reiterate that in these modern times when people like to dress alike and their choices are based on current trends which are often brought on by a global influence, it is extremely difficult to say anything about their society’s norms, based just on their outerwear.