When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try to keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As countries develop, many people become concerned that this means the end of traditional skills and ways of life. I don’t think this is inevitable, as some people claim. Some people enjoy living in traditional ways. In the United States, there is a group of people called the Amish who refuses to use modern technology. In many developed countries, thousands of people are returning to a more traditional lifestyle – living with less technology and growing their own food in traditional ways – and loving it. A search on the Internet reveals that some people are running successful small businesses, producing items such as clothing and toys in traditional ways. Clearly, there are not only people who maintain traditional lifestyles and skills, but there are many more who appreciate them. Perhaps this is more popular in more developed countries where some people have experienced ‘modern’ life and are not satisfied with it. Of course, most people do change their lifestyles as their societies and countries develop. Is this so bad? I wonder how many people in modern societies would like to go back to ‘traditional’ ways of living in small, unstable buildings prone to destruction and sleeping in unsanitary conditions. It seems there is a general human desire to long for ‘the good old days’ and traditional lifestyles, yet, given the choice, the vast majority would happily forego traditions and modernise. What most often happens is that people keep some traditions and skills and forget others. In conclusion, I cannot say that it is pointless to try to keep traditions alive. As long as such traditions do no harm to others, it should be up to the individual what lifestyle they want to lead and whether they want to keep particular traditions and skills alive. However, I cannot agree that the loss of traditional ways of life and skills is inevitable.