In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Education is a crucial thing in life for everyone regardless of age, gender and race. However, there are countries who practice a gap year for students to work or travel after secondary school and before entering tertiary education. There are pros and cons for these young people, but personally, I think that it is unnecessary to have a gap year between those periods, but it would make more sense if it is during university degree. To begin with, the benefit of having a year off between your between finishing high school and starting university studies is that the students are able to gain work experience. Many conclude that most graduates do not have enough soft skills to adapt in the working world due to lack of experience. Hence, this one- year time will help them to acquire some skills and practical knowledge. Apart from that, some prefer to travel so that they could have a clearer vision about their chosen degree course so that they will not regret when the time comes. Nevertheless, these young people are wasting their time and especially at their age, their only commitment is to pursue education. For instance, going on trips for a year is a bit far too long just to have a better preparation. There are many cases where people end up in different jobs from their courses because sometimes it depends on the market but opportunities are always there. Furthermore, work experience is unreliable when they are 18 years old. If you apply for an accountant job and having a retail job history might not be sufficient enough. To summarise, I suppose that taking a break is not really a good choice. Instead, universities should train the students about soft skills to prepare them for work life.