Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Road accidents are a big concern for most of the countries. Some people believe that traffic accidents can be minimised by giving hard punishments. However, others favour that preventive measures should be taken to reduce the frequency of traffic accidents. This essay will cover both the aspects and give reasons why punishing the culprits will lead to better results. First of all, the mistakes made by people on the road which lead to the clash of vehicles should not be ignored and they should be penalised with heavy fines or imprisonment in case of serious offences. They will drive carefully once they get to know how much money they will have to pay for their single fault. Secondly, the punishment like cancellation of driving licence will make it difficult for them to commute. It will make them more vigilant while riding on the road. Taking preventive measures like making different lanes for heavy vehicles, two wheelers and cars will help reduce the traffic accidents. More careful measures should be taken on the roads which are around schools or other educational institutes. At the times when school starts or finishes, traffic using the road in front of schools should be re-routed. Also, the people should be made aware of accidental prone areas why putting signs on board or flyers. In conclusion, Although the imperative measures have been implemented by government to reduce the accidents, the number of deaths due to the road accidents is enormously high. The rules have already been made and implemented, but people do not follow them. They are always in a hurry and try to find the shortcut ways to reach the destination on time. They will be more disciplined if they are punished strictly.