In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past century, the life span of people all around the world has been increasing so every community nowadays has more and more old people than in the past. Although, some experts argue that it creates huge problems for states, in this regard others believe that the benefits outweigh the merits. Personally, I am in favour of the second view for three main reasons which will be discussed further in this article. In fact, the increase in the older population in every country creates more opportunities for society. First of all, the wisdom and experience of these people could be used; in other words, they were achieving various experiences and mastering some fields which create a potential source for curious youngsters and junior students to achieve these lessons. For instance, if old teachers are teaching in universities and schools, the student knowledge will be increased constantly. However, many universities use professors, who are the old masters in specific fields to study and guide curious students. Secondly, the mentorship advocacy and their role model characteristics are other advantages of these generations. This means that they would contribute to helping younger generations to gain adaption and resilience in their life. Moreover, their unique character particularly their patience in mixed decisions and their successions in various aspects of their life, serve them as a role model for juniors. Therefore, if society invests in using an old expert person, the young generations will gain hope and the ability to develop their behaviour. Last but not least, these valuable generations have great community engagement in social aspects. To put it simply, they have more time to engage in social actions particularly, charities, free teaching, On the other hand, old communities create some merits such as the expensive costs and facilities of healthcare for old diseased individuals. It means that older people have a greater chance to obtain chronic and acute diseases than younger ones, therefore advanced healthcare is needed to tackle these issues. However, by improving knowledge in medicine nowadays more and more countries control the diseases of these individuals. Secondly, the usage of infrastructure in cities is a basic need for these groups of people, however, these facilities are also too expensive and require advanced actions to tackle these problems. While, like the prior merit of developing knowledge in engineering sectors these problems would be overcome. All in all, in my opinion, the advantages of having more older people in societies outweigh the disadvantages for three essential reasons such as their experience and wisdom, mentorship and role model behaviour, and their engagement in social actions.