Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, advertisements have become a significant tool for marketing any product. A section of people argues that advertisements invite us to buy unnecessary things, while others are of the opinion that it opens our third eye by increasing awareness about the new products which can be of much help to our lives. I completely agree that the former is more correct and will be explained in detail. To promote a product, companies generally propagate only its brighter side, thus providing an incomplete picture of the product. When only positive aspects are known, there is an inclination to buy that product; thus we end up purchasing something which is of no use. One such example is herbal products for weight loss supplements. In data published by the magazine India today, the sale of weight reduction herbal products has been rapidly increased in the recent years, whereas health experts are of the opinion that weight can only be reduced by proper diet and exercise. Many of my friends who used such medicines have later regretted for their choice. Moreover, children are easily attracted by the advertisements. Nowadays, most of the teenagers like to own a smartphone, which is a result of a mass advertisement shot with the help of famous celebrities. This affects the studies of youngsters by keeping them busy with social media. For example, Most of the schools all over the world have banned the use of cell phones inside school/college premises as it was a major cause for distraction which affected their studies. In conclusion, although advertisements update us with the fresh products coming to the market, only 10% of them might be a real useful product; thus, the negatives of advertisement overweigh the positives. A thorough research before buying any product is strongly recommended.