Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some of the ways in which many companies now market their products and services are simply questionable and wrong. I completely agree with this view because, some of these methods invade people's privacy and promote negative habits. The majority of firms have access to people's private information which is morally wrong. Online social media platforms usually request for their user's personal data before creating a profile, and also have data regarding personal preferences and likes of an individual. A large number of advert companies make deals with these internet platform and share peoples secret information. With this information, unwanted adverts could appear on peoples screen in order to make them buy want they never wanted to purchase at that moment. For example, Facebook has been reported to display adverts which are targeted at specific individuals based on their user's previous likes. Another reason why I share the opinion of people who believe that some advertisement methods are wrong is that some of these adverts promote bad habits. In our society today, there are a variety of adverts promoting alcohol, cigarettes and junk food. There adverts are designed by marketing professionals to target an innocent consumer. Furthermore, because most of the companies producing these products are profit driven, they usually fail to clearly state the adverse effects of their products. For instance, aggressive adverts places on beer and vodka usually fail to include that excessive consumption could damage one's liver. In conclusion, I agree that some of the methods employed in marketing several products are not right, because some of the techniques invade people's privacy and contribute to bad social habits in the society.