Fewer young people play sports these days. Why is this? What can be done to encourage young people to do sports?

In this day and age, there is a decreasing number of young individuals taking part in sports activities. This essay will explore the reasons behind this trend and give the solutions to address this issue. There are several reasons contributing to the declining number of people playing sports. Firstly, technological development is one of the most significant factors which push young people not to enjoy playing sports anymore. With the advancement of technology, there have been more and more indoor means of entertainment that are convenient, easy and exciting. Therefore, the younger generation tends to be more keen on these than physical activities, which are more energetic and challenging. For instance, young people tend to spend their time playing games or watching videos instead of working out. Secondly, another reason why young people assign less time to physical activities is the increasing working hours. Nowadays, because the labour market is becoming more competitive, the younger workforce, who lack experience and seniority, must dedicate more time at their office to keep up with their job requirements. As a result, young people do not have enough time for doing sports. There are several methods to deal with this trend. A possible solution is that young people should limit their extensive screen time. This helps them have more time for working out and doing outdoor activities benefiting their physical and mental health. For example, they can install health applications on their phones to go off after a certain of time so that they are reminded to step out of their door. In addition, companies should organize more sports activities outside of work for young staff to participate in. Hence, young individuals have more chances to work out and enhance their physical health, enriching their productivity in working. Moreover, by joining these exercises together, they may have the chance to bond with each other, boosting their social relationships, and thus, their mental conditions as well. In conclusion, technological development and the increase in working hours are some reasons contributing to why young people spend less time working out. To resolve this, if youngsters try to limit their screen time and employers hold more physical activities, this trend can be significantly addressed.