With the rapid development of communication technology, e.g smart phones, tablets and other communication devices, some people believe that the disadvantages of these devices outweigh their advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The last few decades have witnessed the burgeoning demand for innovative communication tools. Due to its rapid penetration into modern life, many people believe that the benefits of high-tech devices pale in comparison to their demerits. In my opinion, I hold an opposite belief to such an argument. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that using modern devices in connection brings certain disadvantages for human’s lives. The chief reason is that over reliance on advanced interactive tools may render users vulnerable to addiction, causing them to indulge in the virtual world and become socially isolated. Therefore, lack of face-to-face interaction, poor social life, or, in worse cases, psychological disorder is commonly found in those heavy users. Besides, several health problems can be ascribed to the excessive use of modern tools. For instance, spending many hours consecutively on a smartphone or computer leading to backache, eyesight degradation or even obesity. Despite the aforementioned advantages, I would stand by the view that the merits of modern interactive technology yields substantially eclipse its downsides. The ubiquity of cutting-edge devices has been instrumental in the remarkable improvement in living standards over the past few decades. First and foremost, smart phones or tablets are the fastest and most convenient means of interaction. In the past, one’s communication was usually restricted by geographical distance and low mobility, but nowadays within a few touches of a button, users are able to interact and mingle with people all over the world by calling or messaging. Consequently, as distance is no longer a matter of concern, one’s social circle can be expanded, which boosts production and distribution of goods, thereby accelerating the development of any nation’s economy. In conclusion, although progressive communication technology has certain drawbacks, its enormous benefits are of much greater importance for the overall well-being of both individuals and society as a whole