In some countries, university students live at home with their families while they study in the same city, whereas, in other countries they live away from home while they study. Do the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Although in some countries, students at tertiary institutions go to the campus for studies from their family house, students from other countries get accommodation far away from their relatives who reside in the same city as their university. In my opinion, the benefits of living away from relatives are more than the demerits. Admittedly, there are several major benefits of not living together with family members while studying at the university situated in the same city with relations. Firstly, it helps to avoid distractions that may arise from parents or siblings such as running errands or taking care of them. Students who stay on their own enjoy the liberty of managing their time without family interference. Secondly, the interaction they have with their colleagues helps them to develop their communication, social skills and to perform excellently in their various tasks. This is because they can share ideas with their peers and carry out their assignments till odd hours of the day without any of their family members questioning their movement. For example, students who carry out research work in their final year sometimes work all through the night on campus so as to meet up with deadlines. Students who live with their guardians cannot do this as they are expected to be home before night falls for security reasons. Nevertheless, there are minor drawbacks to this lifestyle. One disadvantage of living far away from family members is that students become exposed to social vices such as crime, cohabitation and cultism which is carried out by other students. For instance, a recent publication from Olabisi Onabanjo University revealed that 50 percent of female students cohabit with their male friends without the knowledge of their parents. This exposes them to pre-marital sex and early pregnancy. Another downside is that since they learn to live on their own, only the fittest survive. They constantly work to survive both good and extreme conditions without the counsel of their acquaintances. Also, they get to learn from their life's experiences as against parental counsel. In conclusion, the benefits that students who stay far away from their relatives enjoy such as being free from any parental disturbances and the luxury of doing their research work at any time of the day far supersede any disadvantages that this lifestyle might process.