Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

IN AS MUCH AS SOME INDIVIDUALS BELIEVE THAT ANCIENT BUILDING HAS TAKEN UP ALOT OF FUNDING FOR THEIR MAINTENANACE AND SHOULD BE BROUGHT DOWN TO ALLOW NEW PROJECTS, I AM OF THE OPINION THAT ANCIENT BUILDING IS A LARGE PART OF OUR LIVES AND SHOULD BE PRESERVED AT ALL COST FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS. EVERY BUILDING HAS A STORY, ESPECIALLY OLD BUILDINGS WHICH IS KNOWN TO BE ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT PARTS OF A PLACES HISTORY. IN MOST INSTITUTIONS, COMPULSORY EXCURSIONS ARE ARRANGED. WHEREBY, A GROUP OF STUDENTS ARE SHOWN AROUND THIS STRUCTURES TAKING INTO ACCOUNT ITS SYMBOLISM LIKE STATUES AND STORIES ALONGSIDE WHICH GIVES IT, ITS UNIQUENESS. ANOTHER POINT TO CONSIDER IS THAT IT SERVES AS A GOOD MEANS OF GENERATING REVENUE, IN THE SENSE THAT WHEN A CITY IS ENDOWED WITH BEAUTIFUL ARTIFACTS FROM THE PAST IT ATTRACTS ALOT OF FOREIGNERS AND ULTIMATELY, SERVES AS A FORM OF TOURIST ATTRACTION TO MANY, ELEVATING THE PLACE IN RICHES AND FAME, BECAUSE THE MORE PEOPLE HEAR ABOUT IT THE MORE THE VISIT AND THE MORE DEVELOPED IT BECOMES. ADDITIONALLY, OLDER CHURCHES DATING BACK TO THE 80'S AND ABOVE ARE KNOWN TO BE VERY POWERFUL HOMES THAT TEND TO SPIRITUAL NEEDS LIKEWISE MOSQUES. FOR INSTANCE, IN EGYPT THE FAMOUS WALL OF SPYNX IS KNOWN WORLDWIDE TO BE THE LEPERS MEDICINE, PEOPLE ARE KNOWN TO BE COMPLETELY RESCUCITATED JUST BY PLACING THEIR HANDS ON THE WALL. FURTHERMORE, THIS PLACES THAT ARE WELL SOUGHT AFTER ARE POPULAR LANDMARKS THAT CAN HELP A VISITOR TO GET AROUND TOWN EASILY. IN CONCLUSION, CONSERVATION OF INFRASTRUCTURES IS PARAMOUNT BECAUSE HISTORY MAKES A PLACE SPECIAL AND MORE FAMOUS, GENERATES REVENUES BY ATTRACTING FOREIGNERS AND SERVES AS AN EDUCATIONAL PLATFORM FOR STUDENTS.