Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Examinations are used as a tool to assess academic abilities of a student.The majority of masses think that scoring good numbers in the exams is not the apt method to judge the potential of a scholar. This essay will discuss how this traditional approach helps for a few students while for some it does not. To begin with, scoring good grades or numbers in a paper does not reflect anything about a pupil's intelligence. To exemplify, my cousin used to get 90percent marks when he was in college, but he struggled very hard to get employment, as he always crammed answers. He was having a little or negligible understanding about his subjects. Therefore, merely getting a merit or high grades cannot teach one's intellectual skills. We need practical knowledge also if we want to excel in our lives. To consider, acquiring job of a doctor or that of nurse requires an internship and years of practice. Theoretical paper is always not the best solution to see the student's calibre. Each pupil has his own style of reading. Some students give importance to exam and read books to get a high score. These are often good at theoretical knowledge, but bad at practical. On the other side, some students study and implement the theoretical examples in real life to understand the actual concepts. For example, Aryan, my college friend never scored good marks in exams, but he had the best knowledge about the subjects which we read in the college. While reading he always understand the practical applications, but he was never able to express the same while writing the exams. Hence, sometime exam is not the only solution to judge the achievement of the students. In conclusion, ''pen and paper'' based mode of examinations can help one aware of his shortcomings by revealing his mistakes, but there must be other alternatives to these types of testing tools, namely practical skills, that can aid one in becoming successful in his life.