In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good news for individuals but it may have negative consequences for our world as a whole. What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150?

Some scientists have predicted the possibility of people living for longer years. Although this could be soothing to hear, but it may have a serious effect on the society at large, while this innovation will allow people to spend more quality time with their families and also achieve more with their careers, we shouldn't fail to recognise the bad impact it would have on the society. Certainly, there are some advantages in people living longer than usual. Firstly, people could have more pleasure living the life they envisage and spend more valuable time with their loved ones such as, trying to live a different lifestyle. Furthermore, people could contribute more to their community development if they have a longer lifespan. For example, there is an adage that says "the more we live the more we learn" people could discover a permanent cure to a killer disease like AIDS and Cancer. Nonetheless, allowing people to live for 150 years could pose a greater challenge. People might be unhealthy in their later years because part of their body organs will be weak and might not function properly. For instance, old age comes with different kinds of diseases such as diabetes, kidney failure and so on. Also, an increase in the older population may put pressure on the social welfare system such as, wasting society's resources on the elderly instead of concentrating on the younger ones. In conclusion, the beneficial aspect of allowing people to live for long cannot be compared to the damage it will cause to people's health and the society at large.